Search
Close this search box.

News of Joanneum Racing Graz

Joanneum Racing Graz
days
hours
minutes
And away we go!

NEVER STOP PUSHING

Rollout JR24

Rollout JR24 Joanneum Racing Graz is delighted to invite you to this year’s rollout! On this evening, we will be presenting our new electric racing

continue reading »

About us

Joanneum Racing Graz is a close-knit Formula Student team consisting of students from FH JOANNEUM. They all share a passion for motorsport and vehicle technology. Year after year, the Weasels – as the team members call themselves – build a functional and competitive JR racing car with which they take part in international Formula Student competitions at the end of the season and achieve success after success. For these moments, they work hard day and night throughout the season – true to the team motto: Never Stop Pushing!

What is Formula Student?

The Formula Student Team Joanneum Racing Graz was founded in 2003 and took part in competitions for the first time in 2004 with the jr04. In the 2023 season, the team consists of around 85 members from a wide range of FH JOANNEUM degree programmes.

In Formula Student, teams of students design, develop and build their own formula racing car and compete with it in international competitions.

A Formula Student competition is divided into the following classes: Combustion Vehicle (CV), Electric Vehicle (EV) and Driverless Vehicle (DV). They compete in static and dynamic events, before which technical and mechanical inspections must be completed and passed. The static events include the presentation of a business plan – i.e. an idea of how the racing car could best be integrated into a profitable business, cost and manufacturing or engineering design. The dynamic events consist of Skidpad, Acceleration, Autocross and Endurance.

In the 2021 season, we competed for the last time with a racing car with a combustion engine and were very successful with it. We managed to take home two overall victories, were ranked second in the world rankings and finished the season in ninth place in the world rankings.

We have been building an electric racing car since the 2022 season. With the JR22, we took victories in the individual static disciplines at the FS Netherlands and FS Austria competitions. But in our first season with an electric racing car, we were also able to win an overall classification at the FS Alpe Adria in Croatia. This makes us the very first Austrian team to achieve an overall victory in the electric class at a Formula Student competition.

Our contact persons

Marco Pachner

Electrical Director
Email

Klaus Stanek

Organizational Director
Email

Thomas Uhl

Mechanical Director
Email

Neuigkeiten von Joanneum Racing Graz

Tage
Stunden
Minuten
Rollout Time!

NEVER STOP PUSHING

Rollout JR24

Rollout JR24 Wir von Joanneum Racing Graz freuen uns, Sie zu unserem diesjährigen Rollout einzuladen! An diesem Abend werden wir Ihnen unseren neuen Elektro-Boliden, den

Weiterlesen »

Über uns

Joanneum Racing Graz ist ein eingeschworenes Formula Student Team bestehend aus Studierenden der FH JOANNEUM. Sie alle teilen die Leidenschaft für den Motorsport und die Fahrzeugtechnik. Jahr für Jahr bauen die Weasels – so nennen sich die Teammitglieder – einen funktionstüchtigen und wettbewerbsfähigen JR-Rennboliden, mit dem sie am Ende der Saison an internationalen Wettbewerben der Formula Student teilnehmen und Erfolg nach Erfolg einfahren. Für diese Momente wird die ganze Saison, Tag und Nacht hart gearbeitet – ganz nach dem Team-Motto: Never Stop Pushing!

Was ist Formula Student?

Das Formula Student Team Joanneum Racing Graz wurde 2003 gegründet und nahm 2004 erstmals mit dem jr04 an Wettbewerben teil. In der Saison 2023 besteht das Team aus etwa 85 Mitgliedern, die aus verschiedensten Studiengängen der FH JOANNEUM zusammenkommen.

In der Formula Student designen, entwickeln und fertigen Teams aus Studierenden einen eigenen Formel-Rennwagen und treten mit diesem bei internationalen Wettbewerben an.

Ein Formula-Student-Wettbewerb ist in folgende Klassen unterteilt: Combustion Vehicle (CV), Electric Vehicle (EV) und Driverless Vehicle (DV). Angetreten wird in statischen und dynamischen Events, vor denen technische und mechanische Inspektionen durchlaufen und bestanden werden müssen. Zu den statischen Events zählen die Präsentation eines Business Plans – also einer Idee, wie der Rennwagen bestmöglich in ein profitables Geschäft integriert werden könnte, Cost and Manufacturing oder dem Engineering Design. Die dynamischen Events bestehen aus Skidpad, Acceleration, Autocross und Endurance.

In der Saison 2021 sind wir zum letzten Mal mit einem Rennwagen mit Verbrennungsmotor an den Start gegangen und waren damit auch sehr erfolgreich. Es gelang uns, zwei Gesamtsiege mit nach Hause zu nehmen, uns zwischenzeitlich auf Rang 2 der Weltrangliste zu klassieren und die Saison mit Weltranglistenplatz 9 abzuschließen.

Seit der Saison 2022 bauen wir einen elektrischen Rennboliden. Mit dem JR22 haben wir bei den Bewerben FS Netherlands und FS Austria Siege in den einzelnen statischen Disziplinen geholt. Aber auch in unserer ersten Saison mit einem elektrischen Boliden konnten wir bei der FS Alpe Adria in Kroatien bereits eine Gesamtwertung für uns entscheiden. Damit sind wir das allererste österreichische Team, das einen Gesamtsieg in der Elektro-Klasse bei einem Formula Student Wettbewerb einfahren konnte.

Unsere Ansprechpartner

Marco Pachner

Electrical Director
Email

Klaus Stanek

Organizational Director
Email

Thomas Uhl

Mechanical Director
Email